The first people to live in were called Aborigines. They
migrated there about 40,000 years ago. The continent remained relatively
unknown by outsiders until the 17th century. The first Europeans to settle
were British convicts in 1788. They arrived at Botany Bay in southeastern
Australia. Australia grew as a group of British colonies during the 19th
century, and in 1901 the colonies federated to form a unified independent

National Government

The federal parliament consists of a bicameral legislature. The
House of Representatives has 146members elected for three years by a
popular vote. The Senate has 76 members also elected by popular vote, but
for a six year ...

Want to read the rest of this paper?
Join Essayworld today to view this entire essay
and over 50,000 other term papers

at referenda in all six colonies. It reserves for the
Federal Government the power over defense, foreign affairs, trade and
commerce, taxation, customs and excise duties, pensions, immigration and
postal services. Other powers are left with the States, but federal law
prevails if there is a conflict over concurrent powers. The Federal
Government also has the power to ensure observance at the state level of
Australia's international treaty obligations.


Australia's currency is called the decimal with the dollar as the
basic unit. (100 cents equals $1). These notes come in denominations of
$100, $50, $20, $10, and $5. The coins come in 5c, 10c, 20c and $1, and $2


The principal elements of the main federal taxes of Australia are
namely income tax, capital gains tax, and fringe benefits tax.

Income Tax

Tax payable = (assessable income - allowable deductions) x
applicable tax rate
Payable by = person who derives ...

Get instant access to over 50,000 essays.
Write better papers. Get better grades.

Already a member? Login

would otherwise have been deductible to the employee under the income tax
provisions if the amount had actually been incurred by the employee

State and Territorial Government

Australia is divided into six states - New South Wales, Victoria,
Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania - and two
territories: the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.
The states and territories each have a capital city, flag, and even
their own flora and fauna emblems. Australia is also responsible for
administering seven external territories: Norfolk Island, Cocos (Keeling)
Island, Christmas Island, Ashmore and Cartier Islands Territory, ...

Succeed in your coursework without stepping into a library.
Get access to a growing library of notes, book reports,
and research papers in 2 minutes or less.


Australia. (2005, September 26). Retrieved January 18, 2019, from
"Australia.", 26 Sep. 2005. Web. 18 Jan. 2019. <>
"Australia." September 26, 2005. Accessed January 18, 2019.
"Australia." September 26, 2005. Accessed January 18, 2019.
Join today and get instant access to this and 50,000+ other essays

Added: 9/26/2005 11:19:13 AM
Category: Geography
Type: Premium Paper
Words: 2035
Pages: 8

Save | Report


Save and find your favorite essays easier

Child Sex Tourism Bill In Austr...
Australia Joining World War 1
Role Of Government In Mixed Eco...
Australia Day
Independence Of Judiciary In Au...
Film Marketing In Australia
Australia In The Vietnam War
Convicts And Australia
Copyright | Cancel | Contact Us

Copyright © 2019 Essayworld. All rights reserved